Mayor Gillingham announces Chairs of Standing Policy Committees, Winnipeg Police Board

Mayor Gillingham announces Chairs of Standing Policy Committees, Winnipeg Police Board

Released: 3:05 p.m.

Winnipeg, MB – Today, Mayor Scott Gillingham announced the appointments of the Chairs of the Standing Policy Committees (SPC), the Deputy Mayor, the Acting Deputy Mayor and the Chair of the Winnipeg Police Board.

The five members of Executive Policy Committee are as follows:

  • Councillor Jeff Browaty (North Kildonan): Chair of the SPC on Finance & Economic Development.
  • Councillor Janice Lukes (Waverley West): Chair of the SPC on Public Works.
  • Councillor Brian Mayes (St. Vital): Chair of the SPC on Water, Waste & Environment.
  • Councillor John Orlikow (River Heights-Fort Garry): Chair of the SPC on Community Services.
  • Councillor Sherri Rollins (Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry): Chair of the SPC on Property & Development.

The Mayor also announced that Councillor Janice Lukes will serve as Deputy Mayor and Councillor Markus Chambers (St. Norbert – Seine River) will serve as Acting Deputy Mayor and Chair of the Winnipeg Police Board.

The consolidation of the SPC on Finance with the former SPC on Innovation & Economic Development will reduce the number of positions on EPC from six to five (plus the Mayor), consistent with the Mayor’s commitment during the recent election.

“I ran for mayor on a commitment to unifying council to build a stronger Winnipeg,” said Mayor Gillingham. “I thank these councillors for agreeing to take on these leadership roles, but I look forward to working in collaboration with all councillors as we make progress on dealing with critical issues like safety, homelessness, infrastructure and improving city services.”

Mandate letters for each of the committee chairs will be forthcoming upon completion of the strategic plan that will be developed by all of City Council.

Nominations and appointments to various agencies, boards, commissions, and Council liaison positions, will be made as part of the Organizational Meeting of Council on November 9th.

Prior to making today’s appointments, Mayor Gillingham met with all 15 members of City Council. He also met with Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Premier Heather Stefanson, and former Mayor Brian Bowman in the days leading up to his inauguration.

Was this information helpful?

How can we make this web page better?

Information collected will be used to improve our website. Do not use this form to submit a request for service or information because it will not be forwarded to departments for response. To submit a request for service or information, contact 311.

This form is not intended to collect personal information; however, any personal information you choose to include in your comments is collected by the City of Winnipeg under the authority of section 36(1)(b) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act for the purpose of improving our website and will not be used or disclosed for any other purposes, except as authorized by law. Contact the Corporate Access and Privacy Officer by mail (City Clerk’s Department, Susan A. Thompson Building, 510 Main Street, Winnipeg MB, R3B 1B9) or by telephone (311) if you have any questions about the collection of this information.

Ces renseignements sont-ils utiles?

Comment pourrait-on améliorer cette page Web?

Les renseignements recueillis serviront à l’amélioration de notre site Web. Prière de ne pas se servir de ce formulaire pour soumettre une demande de service ou de renseignements, car la demande ne sera pas transmise au service en question. Pour soumettre une demande de service ou de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le 311.

Le présent formulaire ne vise pas à recueillir des renseignements personnels. Cependant, les renseignements personnels que vous choisissez d’inclure dans vos commentaires sont recueillis par la Ville de Winnipeg en conformité avec l’alinéa 36(1)b) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée dans le but d’améliorer son site Web et ne seront ni utilisés ni divulgués pour d’autres raisons, sauf dans les cas où cela est autorisé par la loi. Communiquez avec l’agent de l’accès à l’information et de la protection de la vie privée de la Ville par courrier au Bureau du greffier, immeuble Susan-A.-Thompson, 510, rue Main, Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3B 1B9, ou par téléphone au 311 si vous avez des questions sur la collecte de ces renseignements.

View original article here Source